Comment I heard recently…

September 4, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

“Anything I place in front of my recovery I will lose anyway.”

Really?

How about this statement instead: “Anything I place in front of Christ I will lose anyway.”

Recovery or Christ? Is recovery the god of the person who made the first statement above? Maybe. Recovery is certainly the most important “thing” in the person’s life! Our goal must not ONLY be to stay clean and sober (recovery) but our goal must be to glorify God with our lives and to live for Him alone!

You may be thinking I am splitting hairs over this but it’s important and an important distinction. The biblical word is transformation anyway – not recovery! God wants more than just recovery; He wants a transformation for the person struggling with an addiction. Praise God!

-Mark (wanting more than just sobriety; wanting to know Christ more deeply and wanting to glorify His Name!)

  1. Michael Olvey
    September 5, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I really don’t think you are splitting hairs. The reason I say so is that recently in my counseling I have run into this verytopic or idea. I find that for some “recovery”is the goal as opposed to “Christ as the goal.” Last Friday night I was in a position to face this problem head on. I found to my dissapointment that some “just don’t get it.”

    What it is that they don’t get is the “gospel itself.” I see that I have some challenges in front of me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

