Home > Jesus Only, Posts by Mark, Truth in Love Staff > Is God concerned about an organization’s reputation…or His?

Is God concerned about an organization’s reputation…or His?


Is God concerned with the reputation of your church? Is He concerned even about your reputation or mine?

I don’t think so. Not a big deal to God. In fact, God gets blamed for so much that I would think He’s allowing us to see what it feels like to be wrongly blamed for all sorts of problems.

I know people who are what the Bible calls “people-pleasers” (Gal. 1:10, Eph. 6:6, Col. 3:22) and they are CONSUMED with their own reputations! It is MOST important to them! But what about God’s reputation, or as we say in Christianity, God’s glory? Are they CONSUMED with His reputation?

Because to me, that’s what separates the strong believers from the weak ones: a concern for God’s glory. Rather than want to be accepted, strong believers preach the Gospel and let the chips fall where they may. Pleasing God is most important to them as 2 Cor. 5:9 tells us: “So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.” In other words, after we are saved, we must make it our goal to please Him, be most concerned about His glory and reputation, and emphasize Jesus Only!

We are to do all things unto the glory of God (I Cor. 10:31).

Am I concerned about Truth in Love’s reputation? Yes. Am I concerned about the reputation of The Lovelady Center? Yes. But am I more concerned about the reputation of Christ? YES!!!

-Mark (knowing the Lord is pleased with me and wanting to make Him known to others)

  1. March 24, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    As I read this post I was reminded of a really great song by Jason Upton called “Dying Star”. Giving glory to the Lord is what is most important. I agree 100%. It a sad thing to see brothers and sister seek out glory for themselves, using our Savior as the platform. I live for Him, i am glad to see that others do as well . G-d bless you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

