Home > Jesus Only, Posts by Mark, Truth in Love Staff > Christian-themed churches

Christian-themed churches


I have visited almost 100 churches in my lifetime. I really enjoy worshipping the Lord with people!

However, I must confess that I have been disappointed with churches that I call “Christian-themed” because they talk about moral issues but not about the Person of Christ.

Again, is an apple pie with no apples really an apple pie? Likewise, is a church without Christ really a church?

When sin is omitted, the Gospel doesn’t make sense. Jesus saves is stated but without sin, then what does He save us from – our suffering? Wrong! Read Philippians 1:29 (ESV): “For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake…”

I have to suffer for His sake? Yikes! Let me re-think this thing, Lord, is what I first thought when I read this verse.

If Jesus the Christ suffered and God did not spare Him from it, then why do we think we’ll be any different? We will suffer, too, but for righteousness sake when we take stands on moral issues that line up with the Bible and they are many (i.e. abortion, pre-marital sex, sin rather than disease of addiction, etc.).

So I urge you to not attend Christian-themed churches that FAIL to exalt the Person of Jesus Christ and Him only!

-Mark (abhorring watered down Christianity)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

