Home > Life Lessons, Truth in Love Staff > Thankful: doesn’t come from us…

Thankful: doesn’t come from us…

November 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Remember back when you were young…  An adult blessed you with something, maybe your favorite toy, a good book, or some clothes.  What were the first words out of your mouth?  WOW, COOL, NEAT….  For most of us, it wouldn’t be hard for you to imagine what your parents words were to you… WHAT DID YOU SAY?  “Uh thank you…”  We aren’t taught how to be selfish.  We become prodigys of that nature all by ourselves.  As I grow older, I still find myself having to battle against being focused only on me.

What is the solution?

The Bible says that every good and perfect gift is from the LORD.  As you celebrate Thanksgiving this week with your loved ones, ask the LORD to reignite your heart of Thankfulness.  Spend the day thanking Him for all the amazing blesssings in your life.  Take time out to remember, if you are thankful, it’s only because of Him.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2:6-7

-Jason

 

  1. Curt Granger
    November 25, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    “He must become greater; I must become less.” I remind myself of those words every day. I am thankful for power in prayer, and God’s awesome love and grace! For God pulling me back when I go astray, and being so forgiving and faithful in his word. I’m thankful for all of those who serve in his church and ministry. His will is demonstrated to me through his caring people such as yourself Jason! But most of all, I am thankful for God’s gift of salvation, through Jesus Christ! Talk about a gift that “keeps on giving!” For eternity!

  2. January 2, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Amen, Curt! Isn’t God good?

    -Mark

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

